Athletics

The Mission of the Brooks Eagles Athletics program is to provide equal and rewarding opportunities for all of our student athletes to strive for excellence in their respective sport. Through relentless competition, work ethic, and commitment a Brooks student athlete will continuously compete at a high level athletically and academically. All student athletes are expected to follow all school-wide policies, Chicago Public Schools policies, and regulations mandated by the Illinois High School Association (IHSA). Brooks’s student athletes will be expected to conduct themselves with integrity, good sportsmanship, and display the highest level of leadership that exemplifies a student at Gwendolyn Brooks College Preparatory Academy.

Athletic Directors
HS = High School, AC = Academic Center, AD = Athletic Director

James Daniel IV
HS AD, Football Coach
jdanieliv@cps.edu 

Lawrence Johnson
HS AD, JV Basketball Coach
lwjohnson6@cps.edu

George Montgomery
HS AD, Boys Basketball Coach
gmontgomery2@cps.edu 

Shea Parks
AC AD, Girls Volleyball Coach
scparks@cps.edu

Maddy Peterek
AC AD, Boys Volleyball Coach
mkpeterek@cps.edu

 


IMPORTANT LINKS

All student athletes MUST have the following forms submitted by the first day of practice/tryouts. Sports physicals must be completed by a physician or certified health professional and stamped with their seal. Please fill out the front page and allow the health professional to fill out the back. NOTE - The sports physical document is different from the CPS general school physical document. We have to have the sports physical on file. 

IHSA Sports Physical Form 
CPS Player Record Packet

Please note - there is a $25 participation fee PER SPORT per student. See your coach for how and when to pay. 

 

High School Sports 

FALL Season

Football
Coach JD
jdanieliv@cps.edu 

Girls Volleyball
Ms. Parks
scparks@cps.edu 

Boys Soccer
Coach Lopez
nlopez76@cps.edu 

Girls Tennis
Coach Gordon
cegordon2@cps.edu 

Boys/Girls Cross Country
Coach Miller
fmiller1@cps.edu 
Coach Sade
shenderson23@cps.edu 

Girls Swim
Coach Leigh
rrleigh@cps.edu

Cheer
Coach Mario
brookscheercoach@yahoo.com 

  

Dance Teams

Majorettes
Dr. Warren
mcwarren1@cps.edu

Blue Royals
Coach Andre 
andre.mccaskey@gmail.com

Divine Diamonds
Janai Bates
janaibates@gmail.com


WINTER Season

Boys Basketball
Coach Montgomery
gmontgomery2@cps.edu 

Girls Basketball
Coach Jaz
jrrobinson8@cps.edu

Boys Swim
Coach Prater
aprater@cps.edu

Boys/Girls Bowling
Coach Darden
coachshaune@att.net

  


SPRING Season

Softball
Coach Johnson
kjohnson4@cps.edu

Baseball
Coach Beale
tonybeale@comcast.net

Boys Volleyball
Coach Peterek
mkpeterek@cps.edu 

Girls Soccer
Coach Lopez
nlopez76@cps.edu

Boys Tennis
Coach Gordon
cegordon2@cps.edu

Boys/Girls Water Polo
(Open Position)
Send resume to AD

Boys/Girls Track
Coach Miller
fmiller1@cps.edu 
Coach Sade
shenderson23@cps.edu

  

 

Academic Center Sports

FALL Season

Girls Volleyball
Coach Coleman
lcoleman51@cps.edu

Boys Soccer
Coach Jones
mejones5@cps.edu

                                      


WINTER Season

Boys Basketball
Coach Collins
sircois@aol.com 

Cheer
Coach Cheetah
techniquecheer@gmail.com

                                           


SPRING Season

Boys/Girls Track
(Open Position)
Send resume to AD

Girls Soccer
(Open Position)
Send resume to AD

Flag Football
Coach JD
jdanieliv@cps.edu


High School Sports Management Organization (SMO)

The SMO is a club at Brooks for students that are interested in learning more about sports management and support. This might be for students that do not want to play a sport but want to be involved in the athletic department. The SMO will be managers for the athletic department as a whole, not necessarily a specific team. SMO members will learn the behind the scenes of running the Brooks Athletic Department, assist with setting up and tearing down the gym or field for game day. SMO members will work sporting events at the ticket table, concession stand, score table, or videography. Students interested in joining the Sports Management Organization should contact Coach JD or Coach Peterek. Announcements will be made at the beginning of the school year.