Athletics

The Mission of the Brooks Eagles Athletics program is to provide equal and rewarding opportunities for all of our student athletes to strive for excellence in their respective sport. Through relentless competition, work ethic, and commitment a Brooks student athlete will continuously compete at a high level athletically and academically. All student athletes are expected to follow all school-wide policies, Chicago Public Schools policies, and regulations mandated by the Illinois High School Association (IHSA). Brooks’s student athletes will be expected to conduct themselves with integrity, good sportsmanship, and display the highest of level of leadership that exemplifies a student at Gwendolyn Brooks College Preparatory Academy.

Each student who competes in an athletics extracurricular activity has to fill out an IHSA Physical Form, each year. This is a mandate of the State of Illinois and the Chicago Public Schools. Any student who does not submit a completed form will not be allowed to participate in any interscholastic sports.

(NOTE: Forms required for participation in athletic activities are posted at the bottom of this page. Please scroll down to view them.)

(NOTE: Sport events are listed both on this website and in Brooks' internal Google calendar.)

Athletic Director
James Orrin
Jforrin@cps.edu
(773) 535-7762

 

Baseball, Varsity
Anthony Beale, Head Coach
tonybeale@comcast.net
(773) 844-2255

Herbert Redmond, Assistant Coach
herbertredmondjr@yahoo.com
(773) 749-2839

 

Baseball, Junior Varsity / Sophomore
Rodney Lopez
e93rod@yahoo.com
(773) 406-2458

 

Basketball
Boys
Head Coach
Lawrence Johnson
lwjohnson6@cps.edu

 

Girls
Head Coach
Jasmine Robinson
robinson1jasmine@gmail.com

 

Bowling
LaShaune Darden
coachshaune@att.net
(708) 903-3538

 

Cheerleading
Temario Jones
Brookscheercoach@yahoo.com
(708) 589-5566

 

Football
Boys
Head Coach
James Daniel IV
jamesdaniel360@gmail.com

 

Majorettes
Dr. Marian Warren
Mcwarren1@cps.edu

 

Soccer
Head Coach
Norberto Lopez
nlopez76@cps.edu
773.837.0382

Assistant Coach
Miriam Lopez
mlopez259@cps.edu
773.799.5694
GIRLS SPRING 2020 SCHEDULE

 

Softball
Orrin James
(773) 908-3126
Jforrin@cps.edu

 

Swimming and Waterpolo
Mr. Marshall and Ms. Leigh
temarshall@cps.edu
raleigh@cps.edu
(773) 744-0649

 

Tennis
Ron Ragsdale
ron-rags@msn.com
(773) 260-2161

 

Track and Field
Frank Miller
(773) 556-8766

 

Volleyball (Boys)
Maddy Peterek
mkpeterek@cps.edu
(574) 292-3033

 

Volleyball (Girls)
Shea Parks
scparks@cps.edu
(773) 587-8114