Local School Council

(Note: Agenda and Meeting Minutes are posted at the bottom of this page.)

Welcome back to Brooks College Preparatory, one of the BEST high schools in the City of Chicago. My name is Denitra Griffin. As a Local School Council member, I am proud of our accomplishments and looking forward to another successful school year.

Brooks continues to trend greatness on a local and national level. To name a few successes, we proudly hosted President Barack Obama and the King and Queen of The Netherlands. With the guidance of our committed counselors, teachers, and staff members, our students’ scholarship offerings grew to $15.7 million last year. Our sports teams continue to grow and rein successes. All of our students engage in an annual citywide community service project in honor of Gwendolyn Brooks’ birthday. We can’t wait to delve into our achievements for 2015-2016 school year!

The Local School Council recognizes there are many challenges that face our school system today. With budget constraints, we are even more committed in supporting the entire Brooks’ community. Our schools’ mission is to help students reach the height of their academic potential and take an active role in understanding and influencing global change. You can help and have a role in supporting this "unit." Please join us at our LSC meetings, our Village of Brooks parent club meetings, and/or our Parent Advisory Council meetings to share your thoughts and ideas. Or, you can email me at denitragriffin@yahoo.com. I look forward to meeting and serving you as the Local School Council Chairman this school year.


 MEETING DATES 2016-2017

LSC Meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 6:00 pm in the Brooks Library. (Please note exceptions for November and April) Everyone is welcome to attend.

The dates are as follows:

  • August 3, 2016 (Special Meeting)
  • September 13, 2016
  • October 11, 2016
  • November 15, 2016
  • December 13, 2016
  • January 10, 2017
  • February 14, 2017
  • March 14, 2017
  • April 27, 2017
  • May 16, 2017
  • June 13, 2017

* *subject to change



Shannae Jackson

Teacher Representatives:

  • Jacob Mitchell
  • Maddy Peterek

Non-Teaching Representative:

  • Barbara Ware

Student Representative:

  • Tyler Frazier

Community Representatives:

  • Anthony Beale
  • Maurice Johnson

Parent Representatives:

  • Denitra Griffin, Chairperson
  • Valerie Grant, Secretary
  • Jeffrey Massey
  • José Garza
  • Presita West