Dual Credit Precalculus

Teacher: 
Michael Schroers
Department: 
STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math)
Class Room: 
309
Assignments: 
Binder Check

Binder check - need a 1 inch binder for assessments and CPRs (Continual Progress Reports).  Binders will be kept in class and are required to retake assessments throughout the quarter.  Students must demostrate that they are tracking their own progress.  

 

The signature page of the syllabus is also due.   

 

Due Date: 
Mon, 09/14/2015
*
Representations of Functions (4 different ways)

Complete questions 5-12 and 17 from the link below

LINK TO QUESTIONS 

 

Keep in mind - everyone is responsible for the material covered (writing equations for linear lines) during Intervention and Acceleration last class period

TO ACCESS THE LINK YOU NEED TO BE LOGGED INTO YOUR CPS EMAIL ACCOUNT.  IF YOU ARE STILL HAVING TROUBLE, LOG OUT OUT OF YOUR OTHER PERSONAL ACCOUNTS.  

 

 

Due Date: 
Wed, 09/16/2015
*
4 Representations of a Functions

Practice 1.2: 70-73 (complete all parts) 

Due Date: 
Thu, 09/17/2015
*
Weekly Assessment 1.1

Weekly Assessment 1.1 is this Thursday, 9/17.  It will cover the topics discussed in class thus far, including writing linear equaiton.  Refer to class notes, practice work, and CPRs to prepare.  

Due Date: 
Thu, 09/17/2015
*
Evaluating graphs

Handout "wind turbines" p. 162 one side & p.169 on the other side:   Complete the 4 sets of problems (numbers were erased) on the left side of p. 169

Be ready for the Weekly Assessment on Monday. 

Due Date: 
Mon, 09/21/2015
*
Increasing & Decreasing

Handout:  "Practice 1.4":  31-34 both a, b

Complete last week's practice work.  

 

Be ready for Weekly Assessment 1.2 on Thursday, Sept 24th.  It will cover all the topics on Weekly Assessment 1.1 plus domain/rangle and increasing/decreasing. 

Due Date: 
Thu, 09/24/2015
*
Local Extrema

Handout "Practice 1.4":  31-34 part a, 43-47 all parts

 

Last two assignment were collected last class. If you did not turn them in, do so on Monday, Sept 28

Due Date: 
Mon, 09/28/2015
*
Graphing Calculator

Practice 1.4 handout:  9,  10, 13, 15, 17

For each function find the (a) domain/range (b) local extrema (c) intervals of increase/decrease 

 

Due Date: 
Thu, 10/01/2015
*
Weekly Assessment #3

Weekly Assessment #3 is Thursday, Oct 1st.  It will cover local extrema and using the graphing calculator to determine domain/range, increasing/decreasing, and local extrema. 

Due Date: 
Thu, 10/01/2015
*
Average Rate of Change

Textbook: p.221: 5, 9-14

 

Due Date: 
Mon, 10/05/2015
*
Summative #1

 

Summative #1 is Thursday, Oct. 8th.  Use your tracker, past assessments, notes, and practice work to prepare.  

Complete p.160:  1-5, 9,10,15,16,20,24,26, 38abc, 40abc.  

Due Date: 
Thu, 10/08/2015
*
Transformations

p.182:  25, 27 (write the algebraic rule)  and  28-32 (list the transformations for each function)

Due Date: 
Thu, 10/15/2015
*
Combining Functions

P. 196-197: 

12-18, 20, 21, 39, 42  

Due Date: 
Thu, 10/22/2015
*
Inverse Function

Read example 3 and 4 on p. 207. Complete 9-21odd on p. 213

Due Date: 
Tue, 10/27/2015
*
One-to One functions (composite relationship)

p.213:  45-50

Due Date: 
Thu, 10/29/2015
*
Summative #2

Summative #2 will be next Thursday, Nov. 5th.  Use your tracker, past assessments, notes, and homework to study.  

Due Date: 
Thu, 11/05/2015
*
Rule for the Inverse Function

Handout 2.3 (side A): 37-51 odd

Due Date: 
Mon, 11/02/2015
*
Transformation Review

handout 2.3 side B:  43,44,51-54 & 4 bcf, 5 ab

 

Due Date: 
Wed, 11/04/2015
*
Summative #2

Summative #2 is on Thursday, Nov. 5th.  

Study Guide:  Tracker, Weekly Assessments 2.1, 2.2, 2.3, notes, practice work (homework) 

 

Due Date: 
Thu, 11/05/2015
*
Quadratic Functions - 2nd degree polynomials

handout 3.0:  64-66

Due Date: 
Mon, 11/16/2015
*
LT 3.3 - Long division of Polynomials

p.248: 17, 17, 20,21,22

Due Date: 
Wed, 11/18/2015
*
LT 3.3 - Dividing Polynomials

p.248: 19-24

Weekly Assessment 3.1 is on Monday, Nov. 23 covering unit 3.  

Due Date: 
Mon, 11/23/2015
*
LT 3.3 - Dividing by Synthetic Division

p.248:  9-15odd

Due Date: 
Wed, 12/02/2015
*
LT 3.3 Factoring Polynomials

Weekly Assessment 3.2 is Thursday, Dec. 3 and will cover LT 3.3. (long & synthetic division and factoring polynomials)

Practice: p.258: 1,2,3,13,15-18

  

Due Date: 
Thu, 12/03/2015
*
LT 3.3 Factoring Polynomials

Weekly Assessment 3.2 is Thursday, Dec. 3 and will cover LT 3.3. (long & synthetic division and factoring polynomials)

Practice: p.258: 1,2,3,13,15-18

  

Due Date: 
Thu, 12/03/2015
*
Summative 1 Retakes are closing

The opportunity to retake Summative 1 will close next Friday, Dec. 11th.  View the retake policy at the top of the web page for more information regarding what materials are  required to retakes.   

Due Date: 
Fri, 12/11/2015
*
LT 3.5

Graph the following polynomials without a calculator.  

1) y=x^3-6x^2+11x-6

2) y=x^3-x^2-9x+9

3) y=-x^3+3x-2

4) y=2x^4+7x^3-2x^2-13x+6

Due Date: 
Mon, 12/07/2015
*
LT 3.5 Graphing Polynomials - Multiplicity

Graph

1.  y=-(x+1)^5(x-3)^2(3x-1)^2

2.  y=x^4-5x^3+x^2+21x-18

3,  y=x^5-3x^4-6x^3+10x^2+21x+9

Due Date: 
Thu, 12/10/2015
*
Summative 3

Finish the last two assignments.  

 

Summative 3 is on Thursday, Dec. 17th.  

Due Date: 
Mon, 12/14/2015
*
LT 3.5

p.300:  59-62 (solve each equation using quadratic formula) 

Graph: f(x)=x^5-x^4-5x^3+x^2+8x+4

Due Date: 
Wed, 12/16/2015
*
LT Add, Subt, Multiply, & Divide Complex Numbers

p.300:  9-16

Due Date: 
Thu, 01/07/2016
*
LT 4.3 Perform Operation of Complex Numbers

Handout 4.1: 35-41

Due Date: 
Mon, 01/11/2016
*
LT 4.2 Operations with Radicals

Handout 4.2: 14-22all, 51-59odd

Due Date: 
Thu, 01/14/2016
*
4.5 Graphing Polynomimals

For each: 

a) list the zeros

b)factor form

c) graph

1.  F(x)=-x^4-2x^3+6x^2+5x-2

2.  F(x)=x^4+x^3-4x^2+x+1

 

Due Date: 
Mon, 01/18/2016
*
LT 4.5 Graphing Polynomials

List the zeros and graph each function: 

1.  y=x^4+8x^3-7x^2-30x-8

2. y=2x^5-7x^4+11x^3-11x^2+7x-2

 

Summative 4 is next Thursday, Jan. 21 covering learning targets LT 4.1 to 4.5

Due Date: 
Thu, 01/21/2016
*
Final Exam

Final Exam for Semester 1 is on Monday, February 1st.  I will cover all 4 units studied this semester.  

Practice:

Review Pack:

Unit 1: 1-7

Unit 2: 5,6

p. 161-162: 23-26, 56-59 

Due Date: 
Mon, 02/01/2016
*
Final Exam Review

Final Exam for Semester 1 is on Monday, February 1st.  I will cover all 4 units studied this semester. 

Practice:

Final Review Packet (part II):  Complete all the quesitons

Look over questions from summatives 1 through 4.  

Due Date: 
Mon, 02/01/2016
*
Answers to the Review Packet

Click here for the answer to the review packet.  

Due Date: 
Mon, 02/01/2016
*
2nd Semester

Second Semester

Unit 5:  Ratonal Functions

Due Date: 
Thu, 02/04/2016
*
LT 5.2

Handout 3.5:  10-16 even 

Due Date: 
Thu, 02/11/2016
*
LT 5.4 Graph Rational Functions

handout 5.4:

23-30

Due Date: 
Tue, 02/16/2016
*
5.4 Graph Rational Function

Handout 5.4:  Graph 32, 33, 34 and describe the behavior around the asymptotes.  

 

 

Due Date: 
Tue, 02/16/2016
*
5.4 Graph Rational Function

Handout 5.4:  Graph 32, 33, 34 and describe the behavior around the asymptotes.  

 

 

Due Date: 
Tue, 02/16/2016
*
5.4 Graph Rational Function

Summative #5 is Monday, Feb. 22nd covering LT 5.1 to 5.4

Practice graphing Rational Functions

handout 5.3: 44, 48, 50, 52, 63

 

Due Date: 
Mon, 02/22/2016
*
Summative #5

Be ready for the summative on Thursday, Jan. 25.  

Due Date: 
Thu, 02/25/2016
*
LT 6.2 Exponential Growth & Decay

p. 353:  3-8, 44-46

Due Date: 
Thu, 03/03/2016
*
LT 6.4 Evaluating Logarthms

handout 6.1:  20abc to 24abc

Due Date: 
Mon, 03/07/2016
*
LT 6.4 Evaluating Logarthms

handout 6.1:  20abc to 24abc

Due Date: 
Mon, 03/07/2016
*
LT 6.4 Apply Properties of Logs

Handout 6.2: 27-34, 47-51

Due Date: 
Wed, 03/09/2016
*
Solving Logarithmic and Exponential Equations

Handout 6.3:  3-21odd, 37-55odd

Due Date: 
Mon, 03/14/2016
*
Summative 6

Summative 6 is Thursday, March 17th  covering all the learning targets + solving logarithmic & exponential equations.  

 

Due Date: 
Thu, 03/17/2016
*
LT 7.1 Solving Right Triangles

Handout 7.1: 31-38

Due Date: 
Thu, 03/24/2016
*
Weekly Assessment 7.1

Practice for the weekly assessment tomorrow, March 24th covering solving right triangle, angles in radian measure, and evaluating trig. functions.  

Practice:  Complete the table started in class.  

Due Date: 
Thu, 03/24/2016
*
7.3 Evaluating Trig Function

Handout 7.2:  7,9,11,14,19,20,21, 23, 24

Due Date: 
Thu, 03/31/2016
*
LT 7.2: Unit Circle

Handout 7.2:  55-71odd

Due Date: 
Mon, 04/04/2016
*
Unit 7 Summative & LT 7.4 Evaluate Inverse Trig. Functions

Unit 7 Summative is Wednesday, April 6th.  

Complete handout : 7abc through 10abc

 

 

Due Date: 
Wed, 04/06/2016
*
LT 8.2 Transformation

Handout 8l1:  graph the follow functions - 38-48

Due Date: 
Mon, 05/02/2016
*
Upcoming Dates

Summative #8:  Thursday, May 12th covering "Graphing Trigonmetric Functions" 

City Colleges Exam: Thursday, May 19th

Project Presentations: Monday, June 6th

Due Date: 
Thu, 05/12/2016
*
Review for City College Exam

The exam for the city colleges is Thursday, May 19th covering: 

-Evaluating exp/log expressions

-Solving exp/log equations

-Expontial applications

-Evaluating Trig. expressions

-Properties of the unit circle

-Evaluating inverse trig. expressions

-Graphing rational functions

To prepare for the exam review and practice problems from the past summatives and the practice work below.  

Handout FE #1: 

29-44, 57,59,61,62,65-68, 89, 95-98

Handout FE#2: 

7,8,11,13-16, 22-25, 49-52

Due Date: 
Thu, 05/19/2016
*
Problem Based Learning Unit

Week Assessment on Thursday, June 2nd covering regression lines using graphing calculator and Google "Sheets" 

Regression Lines Practice with Calculator Practice:

handout "Precalculus Regression Handout": 1,4,12.  If you having trouble, follow this link to a tutorial.  

Due Date: 
Thu, 06/02/2016
*
Presentation & Flier (PBL unit)

Presentation & Flier are due June 9th.  For more details on the presentation and flier follow this link.  

Due Date: 
Thu, 06/09/2016
*
Presentation & Flier (PBL unit)

** Fliers must be completed, in your groups's folder, and ready to print by:  Tuesday, June 7th at 3:30pm.  

** Presentations are Thursday, June 9th during class period.  Follow this link to the presentation and flier rubric.  Be ready to present to other students and teachers outisde of the classroom.  

Due Date: 
Tue, 06/07/2016
*
Dual Credit Precalculus